Subsection 8.—Saskatchewan

The Government of Saskatchewan consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The statutory number of members of the Legislative Assembly is 53 (55 as of next General Election), elected for a maximum term of five years.

The Premier receives \$9,500 and each Cabinet Minister \$8,000 annually in addition to a sessional indemnity. The Leader of the Opposition receives \$5,000, the Speaker \$2,500 and the Deputy Speaker \$1,500. The sessional indemnity of a member of the Legislature is \$3,200 together with an expense allowance of \$1,600. Members for the three northernmost constituencies of Cumberland, Athabasca and Meadow Lake each receive a \$3,500 sessional indemnity and a \$1,750 expense allowance.

41.—Lieutenant-Governors of Saskatchewan since Confederation, 1905-59

Name		ate	of ssion	Name		Date of Commission	
Hon. A. E. Forget	Aug.	24,	1905	Hon. A. P. McNab.	Sept.	10,	1936
Hon, George W. Brown	Oct.	5,	1910	Hon. THOMAS MILLER	Feb.	27,	1945
Hon, Sir Richard Stuart Lake	Oct.	6,	1915	Hon. REGINALD J. M. PARKER	June	22,	1945
Hon. H. W. NEWLANDS	Feb.	17,	1921	Hon. J. M. Uhrich	Mar.	24,	1948
Hon. H. W. NEWLANDS	Feb.	22,	19261	Hon. W. J. PATTERSON	July	4,	1951
LieutCol. the Hon. H. E. MUNROE	Mar.	31,	1931	Hon. F. L. BASTEDO	Sept.	1,	1958

¹ Second term.

42.—Premiers of Saskatchewan since Confederation, 1905-59

Ministry	Name	Date of Formation of Ministry	Ministry	Name	Date of Formation of Ministry	
1 2 3 4	Hon. Walter Scott Hon. W. M. Martin Hon. C. A. Dunning Hon. J. G. Gardiner	Oct. 20, 1916 Apr. 5, 1922	5 6 7 8	Hon. J. T. M. Anderson Hon. J. G. Gardiner Hon. W. J. Patterson Hon. T. C. Douglas		

43.—Legislatures of Saskatchewan, 1934-59, as at Oct. 31, 1959

Note.—Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 81, and for 1924-34 in the 1938 edition, p. 116.

Date of Election		Legislature	Number of Sessions	Date of First Opening	Date of Dissolution	
June	19, 1934	8th	4	Nov. 15, 1934	May 14, 1938	
une	8, 1938	9th	6	Jan. 19, 1939	May 10, 1944	
June	15, 1944	10th	5	Oct. 19, 1944	May 19, 1948	
June	24, 1948	11th	5	Feb. 10, 1949	May 7, 1952	
June	11, 1952	12th	4	Feb. 12, 1953	Apr. 25, 1956	
J une	20, 1956	13th	1	Feb. 14, 1957	1	

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at Oct. 31, 1959.